One thing that I've learned from this break up is that I need to have standards. I need to know what I want from a man so I won't be disappointed when half a year in he isn't living up to my unspoken standards and needs. Also, I am very child oriented. I want them, and I've wanted to be a mom since I was 5. So even though I'm only 22, I don't want to date a guy who refers to kids as a "maybe" or as a "we'll deal with that sometime down the road". So without further ado, here is my list:
  1. Not an alcoholic nor drunk.
  2. No drugs. I don't care if you think marijuana isn't a drug because it's grown from the ground, if you need to get high to be around me then I don't want to kiss you. So there. (haha)
  3. No homophobic men. If you can't accept and love others, then you won't work well here. 

I want:
-A house full of kids & a husband who wants them too
-A husband who will teach our son(s) to be a man, how to cry when it's needed, to help others even when it's inconvenient, and to accept everyone just the way they are – gay, straight, dog person or cat person
-A man who shares my affinity for reading, or at the very least wants to help inspire our children to love books
-A man who cherishes and goes out of his way for me.
-A man who can talk deeply and enjoys simply walking and talking with me.
-A man who looks at responsibility as a way to show love and caring, and not just as a hassle or chore.
-Someone who can join with me in my dream of showing my children all the different kinds of beauty in the world, and teaching them that they can contribute to it just by living beautiful loving lives.
-A man who thinks love is more important than money.
-A man who is willing to fight for our future, and for me.
-A man who has his own passions & goals and knows how to fight for them.

I need a man who doesn't just want to join in my life and my dreams, but instead join our two lives and passions together and fly side by side.

  ----> And please realize that this is not a teenager sort of "oh, he has to be at least 6 inches taller than me and play the guitar" sort of list. I've been there, and I've done that, and I've learned that love comes in all shapes and sizes. And I've also learned that if you don't know what you want that one day you'll realize that you have what you don't want, and that will only end in heartbreak. The list that you just read is not my way of being picky, it is a way of protecting my heart and knowing myself better. Also...heck, I'll say it, I just don't want to have to lose someone that I've fallen in love with again just because he can't be who I need. I know that love means compromises, and trust me, I've made a TON, and I'm willing to make them the next time I'm in a relationship. 


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.