Today I was riding around taking pictures on my bike, and my mom’s amazing (yet scratched up camera) has this weird option to take a picture twice, once without the flash, then with. And the images inspired this random thought of the day:

I feel like most of us freak out when we see this in our lives.

Picture
We see our lives changing, sometimes drastically and we start freaking out. You might as well cut off our heads, cause we already look like chickens.

à I make weird references. Are you pickin up what I’m putting down? Are you smelling what I stepped in? Good. Let’s continue.

We start back tracking, anything to avoid change. Let’s take this a step further and single out the Christ followers. We get all like “woah Lord! What’s happening here, I didn’t sign on for this! Is this Your will, it’s not mine so it can’t be yours! My plan, my plan, my beautiful plan!” Basically, we see things with the flash on. Ie, only what’s right in front of us. No big picture, just our tiny plan.

Big picture, ie God’s plan, tends turns out like this:

Picture
Yeah. B-e-a-utiful. This is odd for me, because I swing between needing to apply this own viewpoint to my life, and being completely at peace just having faith in my Lord. So many things back this up. I feel like I could stop this post right here and let everyone draw their own conclusions.

 

But it’s me. And I’d like to continue this train of thought. Noah looked at the big picture. He wasn’t all “wow, I look like a fool building an ark in the desert” nope. And you know what, I bet he really did look pretty stupid. I figure it’d be like the equivalent of trying to build a jet in a condo living room, ya know?

So many verses in the Bible can be applied to this! But this is the one that I quote to myself (or more like the Holy Spirit whispers to my heart) when I’m scared:

For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. –Jeremiah 29:11

Yeah, it’s super over quoted. But you know what, it’s super true.


So...
take off the flash.
widen your viewpoint.
remember it's not about your plan, it's about His.
calm down.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.