I feel like I have so many rules for myself, and I often wonder if other people do as well. 
Surprisingly, I also don't feel hemmed in by all my rules, or at least I don't all the time. Maybe you need some examples....
1. If I wouldn't say it to Veronica, I don't say it to _________. (Veronica is one of my friends who I will say many a thing to, but it's also easy to not be a bitch to her because I know that she'll give it right back. So if I'm wondering to myself "maybe this isn't a nice thing to text someone..." I then apply my 'Veronica' rule)

2. Don't tell people how much worse their life could be, they really don't appreciate it. (This one is difficult for me, especially when girls are complaining about their periods a lot. A few comments, sure. You want to spend 10 minutes telling me how it sucks to be a girl, when I am one and know how much it does? I'm going to tell you how "90% of the 42,000 deaths that occur every week from unsafe water and unhygienic living conditions are to children under five years old. Many of these diseases are preventable." I know, it's not nice. It's one of my pet peeves.)

3. When in doubt:
Apply deodorant
Carry a knife
Put a 20 dollar bill in your pocket
Bring a book
(These surprisingly work for most situations I'm in...)

4. If you think a text you're about to send might come off wrong, add a smiley face. Sure it takes away some street cred, but it's worth it. 

5. Never try and solve a problem over facebook chat. Always opt for just calling the person. It is so much harder to fight with your best friend when you can hear the pain their voice (in fact, it's near impossible for me)

6. Use 'truth bombs' sparingly. ie if someone in a group situation is joking about self-harm or suicide, it's not always okay to say in front of everyone "I've dealt with both of those things, and why are those subjects okay to joke about?" because even though the person joking about it is being a douche, that doesn't mean that you have to be one. Although sometimes it is totally ok. Judge accordingly! 

7. Do not be reckless crossing the street on foot. When it comes to car vs. person, car always wins. And EMT's will straight up cut off your clothes, which just totally sucks when you don't own that many pairs of jeans to begin with.

8. If someone is open about not being able to keep up with a friendship, limit how much you try and interact with them. Have designated days when you text them, and stick to that plan. It's less stressful for everyone.

9. Either keep your word, or don't.

This list goes on and on, and I am VERY aware that I may sound like a psychopath. Another way to look at it (the right way! ha) is that this list making has come as a result of having relationships with people that change in an instant, and you have to be ready for anything. Also, I'm one of those people who don't feel at ease when they don't have a plan. So there you go! 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.