Picture
Prompt 7: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Well. This is a pretty simple one. I'm part of this great group of friends that just started/formed this past year. They're awesome, I love them, and am extremely thankful that God put them all into my life. I think they count as community?

I definitely want to more deeply connect with a church in the upcoming year. I definitely saw what I wanted in a church family/community when I went to Oregon, I wrote about it here
And after going to a conference I realized how important it was for me to be apart of a church family that would support me in my passion for tattoos and my want to be a tattoo artist and use them as a 'ministry tool' (that's church talk for: I want to go out and tattoo people and talk with them about just tons of stuff! Including God and that He's beastly. And I want to hear their stories and about their lives!)

I've decided to start going to a church in my area that I've actually been to before and was a little sad when I left because their worship team isn't awesome and amazing like my last church. I know it's stupid, but at that point I hadn't heard from God on what church I should even be going to, so I was like "next!". But now I've decided on that church, mainly because one of their pastors and I emailed back and forth about tattoos, and found out that their main pastor loves tattoos and they have tattooed people in their church. So yeah, it's not Applegate. That's ok.

I want to get deep with this church. They have awesome small groups, and I'm planning on joining a few (they have ASL groups! Let's hear it for Sign Language!). I'm definitely planning on volunteering, but probably not with the kids church. I've done that with past churches that I've gone to as a sort of default option, because I babysit so much. But I always end up resenting that choice, so this time, I'm not going to join something unless I'm passionate about it. 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.