Providing for your family does not make you a good father/husband. I'm sorry, it just doesn't. And I'm not saying that I have experience in this area, and I am super thankful that my dad is:
a. Still around, I know a lot of people without fathers and
2. A good provider*

So yeah! Not trying to say anything here people. Part of this is really stemming from me writing to my future spouse (something I've done for a while, but don't have a substantial amount written) and it's just really been on my heart that I need him to know this. Money is great, but I'd rather be poor and happy.

Although I do love the saying
"I know money doesn't buy happiness, but I'd rather cry in my Ferrari"

hi-larious. love it. 

Provide stability for your family. Provide them with a great model of a loving, caring person. Share. Listen. Go deep with your family and find out how their day made them feel. I feel like the role the man played in our parents generation was the 'bread winner', and that's it. I think it's awesome that my grandfather had two jobs and was the volunteer fire chief for so many years, but I do have to wonder, what did his children miss out on? My guess, knowing their father. What did he miss out on? Knowing and loving his kids that only a father who is not just around, but actually present does. And I truly am not trying to call out my family on this, please hear me internet world! I appreciate everything I have and everything my family has done. My grandfather is an amazing man, and I would not trade him for anything in the world! 
Also know that I would give up so many of the things that I have now to know that my family knows/understands the difference between my passions and the things I go along with just for my parents.

This isn't me trying to shine a light on my family. It's me...trying to shine a light on our past to effect our future.




*can you feel how carefully I'm trying to tiptoe over this very thin ice people?

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.