Well not this year anyways. SO MANY of the kids I graduated with/are my age just graduated this past week, and I'm not going to lie, I feel left out. I'm not in the sea of green this year.
And I won't be this time next year either (at least I don't think so). I'm one of those kids who do odd summer courses so my semesters are all weird. 
And I didn't go to a 4 year college. I went to a community college, got my Associates degree, and then transfered to a 4 year college to get my Bachelors. And even though it should've taken the same amount of time, it didn't. 
But you might be wondering what the point of this post is.
Here:
I value my time at my community college.
My adviser in high school, when him and I sat down and talked about my choice to go to community college instead of jumping right into the university, really rings true in my ears today
"When it comes to school, it's the end of the race that counts"

It's not about how long it takes, or if you didn't go to some fancy private college. At the end of the day, it's about your degree. It's about how you finish.

And I will finish next summer with the knowledge that I gained at my community college, after changing majors many times. I've learned all about children and the different ways they learn when I was learning how to be a teacher for children with autism. I've learned how to roll someone onto a back board and strap them down when I was training to become an EMT. I learned how to be quiet, and how to speak up. I learned that some times no one will give a shit if you don't, so you better. 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.